Test Login or Create Account

Vajiheh, Iran


Vajiheh crochets accessories and baby clothes

My name is Vajiheh. I originally come from Iran, and sought asylum in Australia with my son in 2013. I travelled from Iran to Indonesia, before travelling to Australia by boat and being processed at Christmas Island. Although I was initially separated from my son, we now live together in Melbourne.

I had been going to the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre for some time with my son when someone there noticed my crochet work. They put me on to SisterWorks, where I sought help with my designs and then began to sell them in the shop. Before this I had only crocheted for my son and daughter, but now I am able to make a business of it. I make slippers for adults and babies, hats, bags, pendants, hair pins, fingerless gloves and baskets.
Because I am disabled, being able to sell my crochet work means I can have a good future here in Australia.

I desire to continue to expand my business, with the help of those at SisterWorks!

I have sold my work at markets, including at the Atrium Gallery in Melbourne. I worked from early until 4 in the afternoon, with many people buying my products.

Life in Australia has been great for me, I am only disappointed I didn’t find SisterWorks earlier!

I will be launching new products at the SisterWorks reopening, such as scarves and accessories for Spring!
I have been very happy to come here and am very thankful to the many people who have supported me and my son.

Translate »
Your are being redirected to our new shop

We‘ve recently updated our shop website to provide you with a better user experience. 

Website Update

Our online shop has moved to a new and improved platform. You are being redirected to the new shop soon !